Nominations for WA Youth Awards 2011 now open

John McGrath MLA has called on South Perth residents to nominate an outstanding young person or youth worker for the 2011 WA Youth Awards.

The awards are a great opportunity to recognise the success of talented and proactive young people across the State where each year the achievements and contributions of young West Australians aged 12 to 25, along with youth-led groups, organisations and youth workers are celebrated.

The eight categories for the 2011 WA Youth Awards are:

  • Minister for Youth’s Most Outstanding Youth Worker Award
  • BHP Billiton Award
  • Woodside Award
  • Office for Youth Award
  • Propel Youth Arts Award
  • Department of Environment and Conservation Award
  • Edith Cowan University Award
  • Commissioner for Children and Young People Award.

 An overall winner will be selected as the 2011 WA Young Person of the Year. Last year’s winner was 22-year-old Jeremiah Wordsworth for his work integrating young refugees into the WA community by involving them in the arts.

Journalists and photographers will also be recognised for reporting on young people and youth issues through the 2011 Communicate! WA Youth Media Awards.

Category winners will be announced at a gala ceremony on April 9 at the Hyatt Regency Perth hotel, where each will receive a $2,000 cash prize and a trophy. The WA Young Person of the Year will also receive return flights for two people to a European destination courtesy of Singapore Airlines and the Department for Communities.

For an entry form, visit Entries close at 5pm on Friday, February 18.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *